Regular Board Meeting 6:00 P.M., Monday, February 13, 2017 Board Room, Administration Building

Board Members Present: Mrs. Leesa Toliver, President

Mrs. Robbin Vaughn, Vice President

Mr. Robert Cody, Secretary

Mr. Jason Dietze Mr. Clay Johnson

Mr. Don Sapaugh-arrived at 7:05 p.m.

Board Members Absent: Mr. John Prickette

Administrators Present: Mr. Michael Lamb, Superintendent

Mr. Josh Williams, Asst. Supt. Secondary Ed/State & Federal Programs Mrs. Kristin Monk, Asst. Supt. Elementary Ed/Instructional Services

Mrs. Sherry McGraw, Business Manager

Mrs. Sandra Gibby, Tax Collector

Mrs. Lisa Robinson, Director of Curriculum Mr. Jim Bayuk, SSISD Chief of Police

Mrs. Jenny Arledge, Director of College/Career Readiness

1. The meeting was opened in prayer by Robert Cody. The following students led the pledges to the American and Texas flags and gave statements about their campuses:

American Flag – Connor Bailey & Matthew Sherman, 7th Gr., SS Middle School Texas Flag – Coryn Young & Graham Mayo, 4th Gr., Sulphur Springs Elementary School

- 2. Leesa Toliver, President, after calling the meeting to order, announced a quorum was present, that the meeting had been duly called, and that notice of the meeting had been posted in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Chapter 551.
- 3. A motion was made by Jason Dietze and seconded by Clay Johnson to approve the minutes of the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees conducted on Monday, January 30, 2017, beginning at 12:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Administration Building. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0.
- 4. No one requested to address the Board during Public Forum
- 5. Josh Williams conducted a public hearing on the Sulphur Springs ISD Annual Report of Educational Performance, which included the 2015-2016 Texas Academic Performance Report. (Copy of report on file)
- 6. Williams also conducted a public hearing to consider the designation of Sulphur Springs ISD as a District of Innovation.
- 7. Student officers from different Career & Technology Education student organizations made presentations to the board. They included:

Dylan Joiner, President & Anne-Marie Winborn, Vice President – BPA (Business Professional of America)

Mallory White, President & Alyson Vaughn, Vice Pres., Peer Involvement- FCCLA (Family, Career and Community Leaders of America)

Brennan Murray, Historian -FFA (Future Farmers of Amercia)

Brandon Diosdada, President -HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America)

8. SSISD Police Chief Jim Bayuk presented the required racial profiling report. It was noted that the district is exempt from maintaining racial profile information due to not making routine traffic stops. (Copy of report in minutes book)

- 9. Sherry McGraw reported on application for membership to two purchasing cooperatives: PACE Cooperative, ESC 20 San Antonio and 1GPA, Government Procurement Alliance, Phoenix, AZ.
- 10. Josh Williams presented TASB Localized Manual Update 107. He noted that there are nine local policies in the update. The update will be presented for approval at the regular March board meeting.
- 11. Members were provided (under separate cover) copies of the following Head Start information items: Head Start Director's Report for December/January Policy Council Minutes for January

CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS

- 12. A motion was made by Jason Dietze and seconded by Clay Johnson to approve the Tax Credits and Supplements for January 2017. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0.
- 13. A motion was made by Jason Dietze and seconded by Clay Johnson to approve the Delinquent Tax Collections for January 2017. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0.
- 14. A motion was made by Jason Dietze and seconded by Clay Johnson, with noted check abstention by Robert Cody #151487, to approve the Financial Statements and Bills Payable for January 2017. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0.

ACTION ITEMS

- 15. A motion was made by Robert Cody and seconded by Robbin Vaughn to pursue designation of Sulphur Springs ISD as a District of Innovation. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0.
- 16. A motion was made by Jason Dietze and seconded by Clay Johnson to approve a committee to develop the district's local innovation plan. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0. (Copy of committee members list in minutes book)
- 17. A motion was made by Robert Cody and seconded by Robbin Vaughn to approve Resolution 2-17 designating March 6-10, 2017 as Texas Public Schools Week in the Sulphur Springs Independent School District. A list of Open House activities was given to the Board. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0. (Copy of resolution & activities in minutes book)
- 18. A motion was made by Jason Dietze and seconded by Clay Johnson to approve an Order of Election to call a trustee election for Saturday, May 6, 2017. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0. (Copy in minutes book)
- 19. A motion was made by Clay Johnson and seconded by Robert Cody to approve the appointment of Michael Wolfe, Election Judge and Nell Furney, Alternate Election Judge, for the Saturday, May 6, 2017 school board trustee election. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0. (Copy of Writ of Election in minutes book)
- 20. A motion was made by Robert Cody and seconded by Jason Dietze to approve budget amendments for September, 2016 through January, 2017 of the fiscal year ending August 31, 2017. The motion was approved by a vote of 5-0. (Copy of amendment summary in minutes book)
- 21. Toliver announced at 7:00 p.m. that the board members would break for a meal prepared and served by the high school Culinary Arts Department. Don Sapaugh joined the meeting at 7:05 p.m.